The Myths of Summer (Lies, if you will…)

So as most of you know, I am a teacher.  I spend most of my year, especially the crazy spring months, saying that “I will have more time for (insert task here) in the summer.  I just have to make it to the end of June and I will be a whole new woman.  The woman I know I can be!”  I truly believe that I will have more time to spend with my kids, more time to clean, organize my home, see friends, read, cook, tan, exercise in the summer.  I would like to officially call bullshit on this.  The summer is halfway over, and I have not enough to show for it.

Sure, I have read a couple of books.  I went to Ottawa and saw my family and some dear friends.  I went to a museum or two.  Took my kids to the beach in our community.  I have even sat down once or twice and played with my own children.  But, is my kitchen clean?  Is the laundry done?  Have I wiped my baseboards?  Updated my blog?  Have I spent quality time with all my friends?  Have I made up for lost time with my kids?  Am I less exhausted?  The answer is a resounding NO!!!!

Evidence:

I am still tired.  So, so, so tired.  I have napped.  It doesn’t work.  I’ll keep trying.

My house is a disaster.  Literally.  I would rather die than have someone come over and see how I am currently living.

My kids are still guilt tripping me about not spending enough time with them.  I went out the other night for a couple of hours for drinks with friends and my daughters were wailing at the door like abandoned orphans.  I swear I had just spent the whole day with them!

I have no clean clothes.  I had to buy underwear to have clean stuff to wear.

My blog hasn’t seen a new post since April.  Sorry to the half dozen people who read it.  I love you.

I haven’t seen some friends that I swore I would make time for.

So you see – life in the summer is just as busy as life during the school year.  Or maybe I just over-committed and overestimated what summer could mean.

Nope.  Summer lied to me.

8 thoughts on “The Myths of Summer (Lies, if you will…)

  1. I always have huge summer plans too that always fall a bit short. Btw I also went in search of new underwear because I couldn’t mind any of mine in the laundry.

  2. Laurie says:

    I’m a fan of your blog, and think you are doing a terrific job of everything. A mother’s work is never done.
    Love Laurie xo

    1. Thanks Laurie. High praise from a good role model! I guess that’s the thing – I am always waiting to feel ‘done’ in order to feel accomplished, but there is no end to the work of a mom.

  3. YES. Just, yes. As a fellow teacher I feel your pain…before it arrives, the summer seems like an endless stretch of days in which everything is possible. In reality, it’s over before you know it and less than half the to-do list is done.

    And my kids guilt me, too. Yesterday my youngest was sitting beside me and said, “I miss you, Mom.” How’s that for guilt?

  4. Am I supposed to wipe my baseboards? Probably after I clean my blinds, right? I think the problem with trying to get stuff done is that there will always be more to do. It’s an elusive goal, and I think you’re doing just fine.

Leave a Reply

