Happy New Year (yes, I know it is the middle of January…)

So, after my dramatic ending to 2012, I thought it only appropriate to make some changes for 2013.  I posted over the summer about my body looking like a combination of dough and cottage cheese and the indulgences over the holidays (and the two months prior, let’s be honest) didn’t help the situation much.  Now, I am not obese or really overweight for that matter.  My weight falls within the normal range for BMI (although I think BMI is a crock of shit), I am tall, I have long legs and can camouflage things well with clothing, but I just want to tweak a few things.  For starters, I have horrible eating habits.  I could probably subsist on sugar and red dye #5 for days on end and not be unhappy.  When I go out to eat I always give myself a talk and promise that I will eat a yummy salad and then I inevitably end up eating one or two appetizers, a main which usually contains bread or pasta, dessert and one or two glasses of wine.  I cannot say no to my cravings.  I love chips, cereal, ice cream, snack cakes, baking, cheese, Starbucks, Time Hortons, McDonald’s cheeseburgers and apple pies, milkshakes…. the list goes on.  I do eat real food as well.  Since I am cooking and caring for two young girls I most often make a healthy dinner with multiple food groups.  M is also gluten free so our dinners are mostly sans wheat.  I eat vegetables and fruit and proteins but I would rather eat junk food and rich foods.  Any of you who have worked with me or gone to school with me know that I can eat for hours on end and that I am always craving something.  I am one sick puppy.

Then there is exercise.  I don’t love it per se.  I know it has good effects on my body and psyche so I have been known to stick to a regime in the past.  I trained for three 10K races and felt the changes in my body because of that work.  It helped me reduce stress and the size of my thighs which was great.  I just don’t really want to do it so it is the first thing to go when my lift gets busy.  And yes, in case you were wondering, my life is hella busy right now.

You know as well as I know that when life craps all over you with car accidents, stress and work overload that it is important to live healthily in order to be able to cope properly with all the demands one may have.  I struggle with the time exercise takes away from being with my family and the extra planning it takes to have a healthy diet 24-7.  That being said, I have found some short-term, extrinsic motivation that might help kick start me on my way back to health:  Mexico.  We are going at the end of March and I don’t want to look like a lumpy mattress stuffed in to a bathing suit.  I know, middle class problems…  woe is me!

So, here is my plan.  I am on South Beach Diet.  Someone I know suggested it when I was complaining about my lack of willpower on Facebook and I thought to myself “Oh yeah, I remember that diet.  I sucks for a while and then it becomes normal”.  I can do that.  I also bought a workout DVD that has two separate workouts – one for upper body and one for the lower – and they are each 20-ish minutes.  I can do that too.

I am on day 5 of the diet and have only cheated once with a stale doughnut I found in my purse.  And a skim milk hot chocolate that was amazing.  So, twice.  Oh well.

Wish me luck!

(I may post before and after photos, I just have to lose a few pounds first to post my before photo!  Ha!)

One thought on “Happy New Year (yes, I know it is the middle of January…)

  1. Jacqueline says:

    I agree with everything you have said here! Why can’t I just eat everything and magically loose weight? What do you mean I have to work for it? Damn. (We shall loose the weight, K, and we will not look like sausages in Mexico; we will be gorgeous!)

Leave a Reply

